The Sunburst Band – Moving With The Shakers

Categories: Releases. Trackback.
21 May 2008

Yes, we’ve been teased with “Rough Times EP” in March. And now, UK house and disco star Dave Lee’s (aka Joey Negro) gang called The Sunburst Band strikes back with their third full length album, “Moving With The Shakers“! Fully packed with boogie, disco, funk, jazz delights, and being recorded over a period of 18 months, this CD is now out on May 12th at Joey’s Z Records. Collaborations on the album include Chaka Khan’s sister Taka Boom, soul legend Leroy Burgess, Diane Charlemagne and of course fulltime frontman and one of my fave vocalists – Mr. Pete Simpson.

Four years later after 2004’s “Until The End Of Time” (and just as a reminder: debut “Here Comes The Sunburst Band” is dated back to 1999), this 17-track album is maybe not that housy but still full of satisfying soulfulness. Dave Lee says:

“Moving with the Shakers took over me for a while, and I spent 18 months working on it, going back to the songs, honing the production and lyrics, scrapping tracks and starting new ones to make sure there were no fillers. As you can imagine, it’s pretty intense making an album when you’re the main songwriter, producer, label and A&R man. On this third album, I also wanted to say something in the songs and avoid the banal lyrics that plague so much dance music.”


The Sunburst Band – Moving With The Shakers [Z Records]:

The Sunburst Band - Moving With The Shakers

  1. Journey (intro)
  2. Rough Times
  3. Our Lives Are Shaped
  4. Shabadowah
  5. Fashion
  6. Sitting On Top Of The World
  7. Dusk
  8. Put A Lyric In It
  9. Monterey
  10. Days Gone By
  11. Journey To The Sun
  12. Free Bass
  13. Man Of War
  14. Movin’ With The Sharkers
  15. Turn It Out
  16. Survivin’
  17. We Can Live Forever

Comments (2) for "The Sunburst Band – Moving With The Shakers"

  1. […] Band continues to release the singles from May 2008’s “Moving With The Shakers” album. Released on June 9th on Z Records, a couple of tracks from the album are remixed by no others than […]

  2. […] Negro’s band The Sunburst Band released its third album “Moving With The Shakers” in May 2008. Since then, tracks from the […]